The influence of Bob Dylan in current biomedical literature……..

……..an interesting study published in the Christmas issue of the British Medical Journal.

Apparently the number of articles citing the lyrics of Bob Dylan in the biomedical literature has increased exponentially since 1990!

For the full article see here and here, but paraphrasing:-

  • The two most cited Dylan songs are The Times They Are A-Changin’ (135 articles) and Blowin’ In The Wind (36 articles).

  • Citing Bob Dylan in a paper doesn’t appear to generate more attention in the research community.

dylan

And it was all due to a long running bet in the Karolinska Institute in Sweden


Which got us thinking in Skeletal World!skeletons

 We of course have no skeletons in the closest; but……

“One pill makes you larger” [Jefferson Airplane]……. that would be ideal of course.

“And you’ve just had some kind of mushroom” [Jefferson Airplane]………is that drug repurposing?


An ode to rare disease research and drug repurposing

(appologies to the Monkees……..)

I thought new therapies were only in fairy tales
Meant for big Pharma but not for us.
Science was out to get me
That’s the way it seemed.
Disappointment haunted all my grants.

Then I saw the future, now I’m a believer
Not a trace of doubt in my mind.
Drug repurposing, I’m a believer!
I can’t wait to test them out.

I thought science was more or less a given thing,
Seems the more we did the less we got published
What’s the use in tryin’?
All you got is negative reviews.
What we need is mojo.

Then I saw the latest data, now I’m a believer
Not a trace of doubt in my mind.
It’s significant! and I’m a believer!
I can’t wait to publish, its a must!Believer

Leave a Reply

